How to Become a Registered Social Security Analyst

Step 1

Step 1: Sign Up for the Program

Sign up to take the 5-module online self-study RSSA program. Membership is open to individuals that desire to work directly with clients and other professionals to expand their professional practice in the area of Social Security advisory services.

Sign Up Now
To become an RSSA, you must demonstrate knowledge in basic and advanced Social Security concepts by passing the RSSA Final Exam. In addition, you must meet one of the following criteria:
  • Have an insurance license issued by the state in which you practice
  • Are a FINRA registered securities professional or advisor
  • Have registered with the IRS and obtained a valid PTIN
  • Are a CPA, a CFP, an EA, a lawyer or have another professional license issued by a state agency
Request More Information

What You'll Get as an RSSA

NARSSA will support you as you provide Social Security advisory services by ensuring you receive the education, support and resources needed to become a successful Registered Social Security Analyst.
Learn More

Individuals that wish to obtain their RSSA certificate designation are first registered with NARSSA as Associate Members. Associate Members are provided access to the entire educational platform which includes the five-module self-study training program. The completion of this program is a prerequisite to sitting for the national RSSA Final Exam and becoming a Registered Member of NARSSA. Becoming a Registered Social Security Analyst is not a requirement of Associate Membership. Many professionals may sign up for access to the educational platform for continuing education purposes only or to learn about Social Security laws and strategies. Associate Members that proceed to take the RSSA Final Exam will be required after passing to pay annual dues as Registered Members of NARSSA for the right to use the RSSA credential designation.

Step 2

Step 2: The 5-Module Self-Study Program

Before you can take the RSSA Final Exam, an Associate Member must first pass all five self-study modules which must be taken in a specific order. The modules are designed so that you can study and pass them at your own pace. It is estimated it will take you 15-25 hours to take these modules. Each module is divided into chapters. You must take the chapters in order. Each chapter will have practice questions, which you must answer.

Each module will have its own exam of 40 multiple-choice questions. To pass the module exam, you must answer at least 30 of the 40 questions correctly. Module exams are open-book and have no time limit. You cannot begin the next module until you pass the exam of the previous module.

The training curriculum meets QAS requirements and is accepted for self-study in all states for CPAs by NASBA (15.5 CPE credits), for EAs and PTIN holders by the IRS (10 CE credits), for CFPs by the CFP Board (8.5 CE credits), for the AIF/AIFA/PPC credentials by Broadridge Fi360 (8.5 CE credits), and for insurance agents (up to 12 CE credits). See CPE Credit Requirements for sponsor information.

Step 3

Step 3: The RSSA Final Exam

After passing all five courses you are eligible to sit for the RSSA Final Exam. The final exam is given online on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. You must register in advance to sit for this exam. Since the exam is 4 hours long and proctored by a live person, there is a proctoring fee that must be paid at the time of registration.

The RSSA Final Exam is a two-part exam. Part I includes 80 multiple-choice questions, and Part II includes two case studies with 20 multiple-choice questions each whereby Associate Members are required to use financial software to generate what-if scenarios for maximizing clients' Social Security benefits. Associate Members are provided access to this software and learn to use it in Module V of the program.

Passing the RSSA Final Exam demonstrates that you have a foundation of education and understanding of issues related to Social Security. Those who pass the final exam and wish to use their RSSA certificate designation must agree to maintain their Registered Member status with NARSSA to proudly display the RSSA designation after their name. NARSSA as licensor of the trademarks RSSA® and Registered Social Security Analyst® grants Registered Members only a revocable, nontransferable, non-exclusive license to use the registered trademarks in professional practice.
RSSA Certificate

RSSA Certificates

After you pass the RSSA Competency Final Exam, you will be sent an RSSA Certificate for display. Personalized gold seal RSSA Certificates are included at no additional cost with your membership.

Mandatory Annual Continuing Education

Registered Members are required to earn 4 continuing education credits by the end of each calendar year. This does not apply in the year in which you earn the RSSA credential. Your membership fee includes access to these courses on our website. Registered Membership is required for you to continue to use the RSSA credential.